Parker Towing Blog

No Parking towing rules

October 15, 2021

You know that you shouldn’t leave your car in a no parking zone, but just about everyone does it once in a while. So, if you decide to leave your car where you shouldn’t and don’t make it back as quickly as you thought, you might come back to the unpleasant sight of your vehicle being hooked up to a truck and on its way out – or maybe it’s already gone altogether.

Most of the time when a tow truck company picks up a car, they’re within their rights. However, there are protocols that the company must follow. Read through this list of laws so that if you find yourself in a sticky situation, understanding Colorado towing laws can help you protect yourself and your wallet.

Nonconsensual Towing

Colorado has laws governing what a towing company can charge for a non-consensual tow, which is the type of tow that happens when you leave your car in a no parking zone. The maximum they can charge is $160 not including fuel and mileage surcharges or storage fees. Those fees are capped as well at $2.60 for fuel and $3.80 per mile (with a 12-mile maximum) and $30 a day for storage – all of which are for a vehicle under 10,000 pounds. So, you’re looking at about $240 max if you retrieve your car on day one.

Credit Cards

This is a newer law, but it is in effect. Previously, towing companies did not have to accept credit cards and didn’t like doing it because of the possibility that a disgruntled car owner might attempt to reverse charges through their credit card company. However, Colorado law now requires that they accept credit cards as payment. If you get the cash only speech, don’t fall for it.

Drop Fees

This is imperative to know. If you arrive and discover that your car is about to be towed away, you might try to reason with the driver to not follow through on the tow now that you’re present. Some deceitful drivers will tell you that it’s too late and you’ll have to pick your car up from the tow yard later.

Colorado law, however, requires the company to give you the option of simply paying a drop fee (that has a maximum of $70). Many people don’t know that they can insist on this and end up with a whole lot more out of pocket expenses than just $70 – cash or credit card.

Getting Permission

There have been many stories about towing companies fishing for cars to impound by driving through private lots, such as apartment building complexes, looking for vehicles that shouldn’t be there. This is not legal – in fact, they must have permission from the owner of a private lot before they can tow.